Pat Reilly named his second boat after George Flavell, a trapper and hunter who lived in the lower Colorado region between the Grand Wash Cliffs and the Gulf. In April 1896 he launched from Green …
Reilly ran this boat from Lees Ferry to Lake Mead in 1955 with V.R. “Brick” Mortenson rowing and again in 1956 with Martin Litton rowing. Mortenson rowed in 1957 from Lees Ferry to Bright Angel where the trip ended due to very high water (124,000 cfs). The trip resumed with Mortenson in 1958 where he flipped just below Deer Creek Falls and the boat was lost down River. The Georgie White party recovered the Flavell and towed it to Temple Bar on Lake Mead.
Reilly’s party, down to two boats, ran to Lava Falls and decided to let the boats go and hike out. They searched up Lake Mead to find Georgie White towing the Flavell and they found the Susie R half sunk. The last journey of the Flavell with Moulty Fulmer rowing was in 1959 from Lees Ferry to Pipe Springs where Reilly sunk it along with the Susie R.
Like the Susie R replica, the Flavell replica was built out of marine plywood coated with fiberglass. Elliot had the same rough drawings and incorrect station measurements found in the Reilly collection…
The Flavell replica was first put into the water above Moab, Utah, in November 2010 where she joined the Susie R and the GEM for a short run down the upper Colorado. All three boats will run from Lees Ferry to Pearce Ferry launching on Feb. 1, 2011